UNESCO is the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. It seeks to build peace through international cooperation in Education, the Sciences and Culture. UNESCO’s programmes contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals defined in Agenda 2030, adopted by the UN General Assembly in 2015.



When Bristol was named a City of Film in 2017, it became a member of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN).

Launched in 2004, the UCCN is a worldwide group of creative cities working together towards a common mission for cultural diversity and sustainable urban development. As of 2019, it is formed by 246 member cities covering seven creative fields: Crafts & Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Music and Media Arts.

There are 18 Cities of Film: Bitola, Bradford, Bristol, Busan, Galway, Łódź, Mumbai, Potsdam, Qingdao, Rome, Santos, Sarajevo, Sofia, Sydney, Terrassa, Valladolid, Wellington and Yamagata.

Being part of this network means that Bristol can more easily engage with and learn from other member cities, either through forging new international film collaborations, creating new artistic exchange programmes or exploring cross cultural projects that combine film with other mediums within the Creative City fields.

It can share best experiences, knowledge and best practices with other leading creative cities around the world. It can find new ways to use film as a tool to broaden learning, inspire creativity and harness the potential of its dynamic, multicultural communities.

Visit the UNESCO and UCCN websites to find out more.